Skip to content

What, Y’all Didn’t Know I’m a Robot?

December 18, 2007

I got the most hilarious half-compliment today on a Bay Area news site. You see, Brittney Gilbert, former full-time blogger for a local ABC affiliate, has moved herself to the Bay Area to do similar work at a news outlet there. Anyway, I just got a Twitter tweet from Brittney noting she mentioned BusyMom (another Nashville-based blogger) and me in an Oakland Tribune piece that features her.

So what does she have to say about your women’s health blogger? (with emphasis added by yours truly)

One blog, Gilbert says, was just medical research culled by a local woman. “She didn’t put any personality into it, just women’s health news she culled from reports, but it was popular.”

Heh. Bless my little heart*. Big thanks to the BG for keeping me humble. :)

Seriously, though, I should thank Brittney for giving me weekend guest spots at her old place, and introducing me to me new friends I wouldn’t have met if it weren’t for her efforts. Now I just need to have a little talk with her about her anti-robot prejudice.

*The southerner/librarian in me would like to share this explanation of “bless your heart” with her Yankee readers.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2007 4:26 pm

    I should explain. The reporter asked me if every blog was just an online diary. I told her that, no, lots of people do straight up reporting, without adding bias. My example was you. Sorry it came out like that.

  2. December 18, 2007 4:32 pm

    Brittney,
    Not a problem at all. I assumed that it was something like that, and I think I understand your “voice” enough that I wasn’t insulted. I just got a big chuckle out of it, especially because a colleague and I were just discussing how study data warms our little robot hearts. :)

    While I’m at it, best of luck in your new gig – our loss is their gain.

  3. December 18, 2007 10:22 pm

    Domo arigato, Ms. Roboto.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

