Skip to content

Get the Machine That Goes “Ping!”

December 2, 2007

The Business of Being Born, which I reviewed yesterday, includes a bit of this Monty Python sketch on birth. It’s a funny take on a not-so-funny topic – actively managed hospital birth.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2007 11:50 pm

    OMG. That was brilliant. What year was it made?

  2. December 5, 2007 9:01 am

    Mama Bear, I believe it’s from The Meaning of Life, from 1983. Could have been made yesterday, no?

  3. December 5, 2007 9:47 am

    Totally.

    Argh. They took it down already!!!

  4. December 5, 2007 9:48 am

    Never mind. It said “This video is no longer available” the first time I clicked today (I wanted to show it to my husband), but now it’s working.

  5. December 5, 2007 9:51 am

    Oh, good, it drives me crazy when I link to things and then they go away.

  6. Emily permalink
    December 14, 2007 12:57 pm

    My parents were fans of Monty Pythons from when I was a baby. I’ve known that scene for as long as I can remember. I had lots of mishaps landing me in hosiptal as a kid (accident prone) and one of the things my parents would ask to cheer me up when hooked up to machines was: “But where’s the one that goes “ping”?” I’d tell them that they just put that one away. Cheered me up everytime. After having a bunch of nurses and a doctor talking over me, this scene expressed what I was feeling. “Oi! I’m over here!” My parents really didn’t understand the concept of age appropriate tv, but this scene made the hospitals more human for me and less scary as a kid.

  7. December 15, 2007 9:05 am

    Emily, I regret that my parents did not introduce me to Monty Python nearly early enough. Had to catch up in college. :)

Trackbacks

  1. SOG knives

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,097 other followers

