Skip to content

The Perils of Librarianship

November 6, 2007

*Of course* somebody walked into my office while I’m testing the beta version of a medical citations database with a search for plastic wrap as dental dam.

That’s not awkward at all. Ahem.

Mark, this is all your fault. :)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2007 2:55 pm

    Rachel,

    Did you find anything good in your search? I have a number of patrons who are very interested in this matter.

    As for your moment of embarrassment, you shouldn’t cling to the inhibitions of the past. As I said in my post, now that we’ve stretched the boundaries of our knowledge, the next time someone asks for information on unorthodox uses of plastic wrap they’ll find no barriers in us.

    Mark

  2. Carissa permalink
    November 8, 2007 3:06 pm

    Hehehehe

  3. November 8, 2007 4:06 pm

    Mark, I didn’t find anything! I have always heard that plastic wrap can be used in this way, but didn’t realize how scarce the evidence was until I read your post. I’m going to try again and see if I missed anything, though.

    “the next time someone asks for information on unorthodox uses of plastic wrap they’ll find no barriers in us.” – You are exactly, 100% right.

  4. Jonathan permalink
    November 16, 2007 6:10 pm

    Hi Rachel,

    My mother started working as a volunteer in the first public family planning clinic in my hometown, back in the early ’70s. One day she thought she would ace me out by knowing something I didn’t. She asked me if I knew what the second most popular male contraceptive item/technique was and found the table turned when I said “Saran Wrap” without missing a beat. Turns out I had been listening to albums by The Fugs for years (not sharing with her, however). They wrote a song with that title, “Saran Wrap”, which was a tale of teenage lust fulfilled despite the lack of an actual condom. My mother was too nonplused to ask me how I knew the answer to her question, and I didn’t tell her. In turn, I neglected to ask her how this small family planning operation in a plain-vanilla midwest town knew about Saran Wrap. The Guttmacher Institute, I suppose.

  5. November 17, 2007 9:02 am

    Jonathan, that gave me a chuckle.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

