Skip to content

Miscarriage and Infertility Blogs

November 4, 2007

I was introduced to the blog “Missed Conceptions” several months ago, and then began poking around for other miscarriage and infertility blogs to share with my readers. I’m sure there are many other related blogs that I’ve missed, but here are a few that attracted my attention. Feel free to leave additional site suggestions in the comments.

Also see the Miscarriage, Stillbirth, and Infant Loss Blog Directory

Now, can one of you ladies tell me why some words are typed with dots, like Lu.pron?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2007 5:16 pm

    I started reading a selection of infertility blogs a few years ago but I realized recently that all the women now have children through a variety of methods. Their archive are definitely worth looking through. My favorites are
    A Little Pregnant (which you have already)
    Uppercase Woman – (http://www.mscecily.com/wastedbirthcontrol/)started as “And I Wasted all that Birth Control…” and recently changed names. This writer was pregnant with twin boys and had to undergo a D and E to save her her life after one of the fetuses died. She now has a daughter a little over a year old.
    Leery Polyp – (http://leerypolyp.blogs.com/the_leery_polyp/). The writer has PCOS. When she finally was able to continue a pregnancy, she wanted a home water birth but ended up being rushed to the hospital mid-labor for a c-section. Her daughter is now about a year old.

    All these women are funny and feminist with pet causes (fat acceptance, recovery, anti-plastic, etc). And they all have great blogrolls.

    And I think the Lu.pron configuration is to deflect Google searches.

  2. November 4, 2007 7:14 pm

    The wife and I read this one. It’s not exactly about infertility, but she was hired by Redbook to blog about her efforts to have children and got knocked up right after starting the job. We actually read her because she’s got twins at just about the same level of gestation we do.

    http://julia.typepad.com/julia/

  3. November 5, 2007 12:51 pm

    Thanks for the suggestions!

  4. November 6, 2007 1:53 am

    Awesome one: http://herveryown.typepad.com/herveryown/. She’s currently pregnant with twins after dealing with endometriosis, bipolar disorder, and at least one miscarriage that I know of (I think it might be two, actually, but don’t quote me on that). Anyway, she’s wicked-funny, and very real.

    Another one: Tertia. South African blogger and good friend of Julie’s (A Little Pregnant): http://www.tertia.org/. Tertia’s story is really fascinating: she’s been through nine IVFs. One of them resulted in a pregnancy with quadruplets, which she chose to reduce to twins. One of these twins died in utero, I think. The other was born was prematurely, and was named Ben. He died a few days after being born, in his mother’s arms… I think it was this experience that got Tertia to start her blog and subsequent book. She’s an amazing person, very candid and honest and admits to her flaws. She is pretty much beloved by all (including me) for her authenticity and genuine love of women. Her story has a happy ending, thankfully. About 2-3 years ago, she gave birth to twins: Adam and Kate… She chronicles their lives on her blog now, among other things, like her work, marriage, writing career, etc. I swear, I feel like we’re friends. I’ve been reading her and Julie for so long.

    There’s another fabulous blogger who no longer blogs (and no longer has her archives available either), but I ADORE her. She was, truth be told, my favorite. Her writing was amazing. Her name is Getupgrrl, and this is what remains of her blog today: http://chezmiscarriage.blogs.com/. Maybe she’ll come back someday. I keep hoping she does, anyway. :)

    Anyway, hope this helps! :)

  5. November 7, 2007 2:36 pm

    I’ve been reading one lately – though only after she got pregnant. And she just had her baby – like 5 days old. She uses dots in the words too – I think it’s to keep these words from being picked up by search engines.

  6. December 30, 2007 6:15 pm

    What a great list! I have been reading several of them already. Can I leave my blog links?

    Life Begins…
    – Miscarriage stories of loss, hope & help

    http://born2luv.blogspot.com/

    Stories of Pregnancy & Birth – 43-56+yrs old!
    – Daily blog of hope & inspiration!

    http://pregnancystories.blogspot.com/

    You Can Get Pregnant in Your 40’s
    – Sharing articles, discussing options & suggestions.

    http://youcangetpregnant.blogspot.com

  7. December 30, 2007 8:00 pm

    Catherine, of course! Thanks for the suggestions.

  8. February 10, 2008 4:17 pm

    Thanks for the mention, Pam — but I did not have a c-section. Vaginal birth here, no pain meds. :)

  9. April 28, 2008 1:32 pm

    I would like to suggest this blog. There is some great information about infertility, pregnancy, surrogacy

    http://surrogatemother.wordpress.com

  10. June 19, 2008 11:44 pm

    I checked all of the blogs out from your list – they inspired me to jump on the blogging bandwagon. Please check mine out and add it to your list if you feel inspired. It’s not a
    boo-hoo blog, but more about smiles, raunchy humor, and positivity.

    http://knockedupknockeddown.blogspot.com/

  11. June 20, 2008 8:16 am

    Monica, thanks for sharing the link!

  12. sharonvw permalink
    June 24, 2008 3:04 pm

    Hi Rachel
    Thanks for all the useful links.
    I have also started my own blog after 6 years of failed fertility treatment and 6 first trimester miscarraiges. Please include my blog in you list. It may contain some boohoo posts, but also some insight into 6 years of infertility and lots of other nonsense.
    Thanks.

    http://sharonvw.wordpress.com

  13. Becky permalink
    August 28, 2008 2:27 am

    A great book that I just finished reading that really helped me is entitled, “Tiny Toes”, written by Kelly Damron. You will find tons of information including: informative technical information, but also honestly and directly addresses the emotional struggles faced by couples going through this process.

  14. November 11, 2010 1:11 pm

    thanks a lot for this links….appreciated

  15. December 20, 2010 7:01 pm

    I’ve only started my blog, but I’m hoping for readers who can help me through this experience. It’s been very difficult and I have no one to talk to….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

