Skip to content

Oral Herpes is Awesome

October 26, 2007

I have to co-teach a 6-hour class on Sunday. In a case perfect timing, I have a cold sore/fever blister. It’s going to be big fun talking my head off with my swollen, blistery duck lip. Sweet.

I’d feel better about the whole thing if the class would just shout, “Ewwww, herpes!” at the beginning and get it over with. I know just about everybody has been exposed to the herpes simplex 1 virus by the time they’re an adult, but it still feels gross.

While I’m here, I might as well link you to some info on the little buggers:
-American Social Health Association: Herpes Questions and Answers
-MedlinePlus: Herpes labialis (oral Herpes simplex)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2007 7:28 pm

    You could just shout out the whole “herpes” thing. I used to train domestic violence support groups. Anytime I had something wrong, I just told them, tried to make them laugh and then moved on.

    Screaming Herpes at the top of your lungs might be the grooviest thing you could do.
    Have fun with teaching your class. :)

  2. October 29, 2007 12:42 pm

    You know what’s interesting about this? My grandmother, as an adult, developed a Herpes Zoster infection on her back, of all places, about fifteen years ago. She has no idea how she developed it, but my dad (unrelated by blood to her; she is his ex-mother-in-law and they haven’t been in telephone contact in almost a decade, let alone any physical contact) has recently and suddenly developed shingles (a form of herpes) on his skin, too… His doctor said it was because of him having contracted chicken pox as a kid??? Heard anything like that?

    Both their infections seem to be non-contagious (they are in physical contact with other people, like ME, who have not become infected/affected by this), yet puzzling.

    It’s scary to think how much of a social stigma it is to have, well, HERPES, when people who I personally know are not sexually promiscuous at all develop seemingly uncontagious versions of it that are due to having had chicken pox years before!! Crazy!

  3. Michael permalink
    July 11, 2009 9:34 pm

    So I’m a man. I need to vent. I’ma sensitive man posting in a womans health forum. A girl I like invited me to her party Friday. I had a cold sore Thursday. She sent me a text that she would cook for me. I didn’t respond nor did I go to her party. Instead I’m home, working and feeling better because I’m not the woman who has to teach with a cold sore.

  4. February 13, 2013 7:20 pm

    thank you .

Trackbacks

  1. The Creature from the Health Librarianship Class » I Feel Your Disgusting Pain
  2. Herpes Information and News » Oral Herpes is Awesome
  3. Oh, Good Grief « Women’s Health News
  4. MLA2008 « Women’s Health News
  5. Weekly News Round-Up, Oral Herpes Edition « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

