Skip to content

Wearing Your Bra on the Inside

August 13, 2007

cupup.jpgVia Medgadget, I learned of this somewhat creepy internal version of a padded bra being researched by an Israeli company, termed the “Minimally Invasive Mastopexy,” or “Cup & Up.” It’s intended to fight gravity, which is generally a losing cause.

What we’ve done is build a silicon bra, insert it into the body and attach it to the ribs and to the fascia. It’s like a normal external bra,” he continues, “where a strip lies on the shoulder and attaches around the body. We attach it to the ribs instead of to the shoulder, and to the fascia in the lower part of the body.”

Israel21c has more. The procedure is currently being tested in pigs, who have little appreciation for their newly pert bosoms.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2007 6:27 pm

    I think it seems kind of cool, if it works. But there are benefits to bra-wearing beyond reduced-bouncage that I appreciate. Probably best to wait for the technology to mature.

  2. August 13, 2007 6:35 pm

    Sara, I think the idea of implanting anything in my body just weirds me out. I’ve had things taken out – never anything put in. ;)

  3. August 13, 2007 11:07 pm

    there’s no way i can get across how very glad i am to be old. that’s “old” in 20th century terms–not the current idea that leads women of 35 to get botox treatment.

    have been trying to read feministe for a while now but always wonder why i’m there. her fascination with this disturbing body-alteration so that one would not need a bra makes me want to scream. commenters there mostly appear to find it “cool.” as i said, great to be 70+ but worry for my granddaughters.

  4. August 13, 2007 11:40 pm

    Naomi, that’s my post at Feministe, and I don’t mean to make you want to scream. As a busty, devoted wearer of bras, though, this looks like promising technology, given that it is safe and effective (which remains to be seen).

  5. August 14, 2007 7:10 am

    Sara, I have to say I tend to agree more with Naomi. The underpinnings of a product like this is the idea that one’s boobs aren’t good enough or perky enough, not really the size. Not a big fan of pushers of cosmetic surgery.

  6. August 14, 2007 11:19 am

    I don’t know why everyone is afraid of being old. It must have to do with fear of their inevitable death. Getting anything plastic done is not going to make you die any later than your ticket is already punched for. You will just take longer to decay.

    I am 27 and I stopped dying my hair. I have a few greys, but that is what happens as one ages. I dont smoke, I dont roast myself in the sun’s damaging rays, I am a vegetarian and a former marathon runner. I think a few grey hairs is just fine when I know nature is going to take perfect care of me because I have taken perfect care of myself.

    oy.

  7. August 14, 2007 3:12 pm

    I’ve never spent too much time worrying about my boobs going South, but I have had a hell of a time finding a well-fitting bra. And I am not comfortable without at least a little support. And while I wouldn’t mind avoiding the self-esteem pitfall of boob saggage, that’s not the primary thing I find interesting about this.

  8. August 14, 2007 3:30 pm

    Sara, boy do I sympathize about finding a well-fitting bra. I’m not convinced such a thing exists.

  9. August 14, 2007 4:37 pm

    in the past 5 years I have:

    had a baby, lactated, changed bra size
    lost LOTS of weight, changed bra size at least three times
    got pregnant a second time, changed bra size after lactating again
    changed bra size, while lactating, three times due to weight loss and fluctuations in milk production.
    now I am pregnant again and have had my bra size change yet again.

    never in those 5 years have I found a bra that works except for one. I have been everything from a 36B to a 40DD and presently a 38C. when I am done having babies and done lactating and done losing the weight, I look forward to trying to find a new bra that works. I think surgery is just a huge waste of money , but that is just my opinion…and to have it on the inside-not just implants but an actual support system-seems a little futile to me esp. because implants sag too…who is to say these bra implants wont do the very same thing? know what I mean?

  10. August 14, 2007 6:04 pm

    Womon,
    My boobs are the first place I gain and lose weight, so every time I shift a couple of pounds either way, the bras stop fitting properly, so far as they did to begin with. I don’t want anything implanted to “fix” them, because they’d just change again, but I would give obscene amounts of money for a comfortable bra with no padding.

  11. August 16, 2007 10:11 am

    yes, i too have large breasts…annoyed greatly that the bra that works then leaves the room, have to find another one. but surgery? i see myself at 85 (eleven years hence)peering about a room of younger manhattanites (50-65) and… glad we’re talking about it as the next “improved woman” idea looms.

  12. August 21, 2007 12:53 am

    I see the same potential problem with this that arises with fake breasts … that is, getting intimate with someone and them going “*gropegrope* … ew.” Only being worse cos the feeling is only in one small part of the boob.

  13. Vanessa permalink
    December 2, 2007 10:25 pm

    this whole idea of a bra implant disgusts me. it’s a western socialized idea that we need bras in the first place. camisoles and elasticized garments can give support, you don’t need someone to cut open your breast a place silicone in it for there to be support. and there is nothing wrong with sagging breasts, except for maybe the sexualized aesthetic standard.

    • LuAnna permalink
      October 20, 2010 11:03 pm

      Clearly, your breasts are exceedingly smaller than mine to speak so flippantly about the necessity of bra-wearing. An elastic camisole on my natural DDD+ breasts would be like trying to replace Hoover Dam with sliced bread. Do you have any idea how painful it is to have large breasts flopping around during exercise, sex, etc? Imagine clamping a weight to the sensitive skin on the back of your upper arm, then flinging your arm around. It hurts! I often wear a bra during sex just to avoid the pain. Also painfull is the way halter-style bathing suits dig into the back of my neck, tearing the skin and leaving sores that last for days, and the way regular bras dig into my shoulders leaving them sore.

      Believe me, the sensitivity of my skin cares little for “western socialized ideas” and is more interested in basic comforts. Thoughtless statements like yours make women like me feel like a traitor when wanting a device like this, because we are “betraying” our feminist sisters by altering our bodies. But then, am I not just caving to western feminist ideas, at the expense of bodily comfort? Please consider the oppressive consequences your words can have on the groups you intend to support and defend.

      I love the idea of letting my skeletal system support my enormous boobs with the help of some screws rather than my stretched out skin, neck, or shoulders bearing the burden.

  14. Haily permalink
    May 21, 2010 10:55 am

    You would still need to wear a bar. This is simply a procedure used in conjuction with a breast lift or augmentation. There are two different type of material available in 2010 to create this internal bar. One is donor and one is pig, both sterial safe to use.

    Wear you bars ladied.

Trackbacks

  1. Feministe » Thinking outside the bra
  2. “It’s just like a normal external bra!” at Hoyden About Town
  3. Titsling! at Kindly Póg Mo Thóin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,100 other followers

