Skip to content

Pee Standing Up II: The P-Mate Product Review

June 25, 2007

pic_20_23222.jpgIn a previous post, I pointed to the P-Mate product, designed to allow women to urinate while standing. I remarked that I think “this type of item would be fantastic for camping, portable toilets, or other situations where sitting or squatting are undesirable.” Well, ladies and gentlemen (okay, mostly the ladies), I can now test this hypothesis and report back to you. After noticing that the original post has been quite popular and generated a number of visits to the P-Mate site, I contacted their U.S. rep to inquire about a sample to review. I have weird hobbies, I know. I was gleeful to open the mail on the 20th and find not just one P-Mate, but *two packs of five!*

pic_20_23223.jpgFirst, the product. The P-Mate is basically a thick paper with a waxy coating that allows it to move fluid rather than absorbing it. See the photos here for a clearer glimpse at its lime green, decorative goodness. The instructions (moreso the package ones than those linked here) may make it seem more complicated than it is, but you basically push on a seam to fold it out into a slipper-type shape (it comes in a flat package), cover your girly bits with the large opening, and point the small opening wherever you want the urine to go. For pants, you’re instructed to unzip and push your undies to one side. For skirts/shorts, you’re instructed to just push everything to one side. They also have an extra folding line down the middle, so you can fit one or two in your pocket.

Having a science background and an inquisitive mind, I decided to conduct a series of usability tests of using the P-Mate. Your mileage may vary. I conducted said tests in the bathroom in my home, which I can easily clean in the case of user error, and is very small – the closest I’m going to get to one of those outdoor portable toilets unless I have to. The results are as follows:

[Note: Professional colleagues and others who can’t handle frank talk about urination should move along now.]

The Zippered Jeans Test:

I was skeptical that this whole “unzip and push your panties to the side” thing would actually work, so I tried to use the P-Mate while wearing jeans. I’m pleased to report that no trousers-dropping was necessary. However, if you want to wipe afterward, it’s a little tricky to make sure none of the clothing snaps back into place, but it can be done. The P-Mate site suggests, “You can remove any drops that are left behind by slowly moving the P-Mate™ to the front and catching them with the back of the P-Mate™.”

The Skirt Test:
For this one, I chose a knee length, rather fetching skirt. I was convinced that this one would leave me feeling the most exposed, what with wrangling the skirt fabric into place. My fears were unfounded; after the P-Mate was in place, there was nothing “indecent” showing. The skirt really didn’t get in the way; if you were more bold, you could probably tuck your front hem into the waistline.

The After-A-Couple-Of-Beers Test:
Conducted after a couple of beers, as the name suggests. Intended to demonstrate whether inhibited motor skills would prevent clean and effective usage. You know you people who might use this at outdoor concerts or for camping are thanking me. In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have done this as my first trial run of the P-Mate. Bottom-half clothing was drawstring flannel pants (okay, okay, insert blogger-in-pajamas joke here) and underwear. At first, I was afraid to go for fear of making a mess. Once I started, though, it was smooth sailing, with no spills and no clothing problems. I exited the bathroom proclaiming, “That was awesome!”

Final Thoughts:

-I think the P-Mate would be great for many of its advertised applications – for camping, when you don’t want to squat, portable toilets, etc. I do think it’s much easier to use this and stand than it is to perform the acrobatic squatting hover many women attempt, and you won’t even dribble on the seat. I really wish my poke-and-prod provider would adopt these, because I absolutely detest the pee-in-a-cup routine – I almost always have trouble with aim and end up with junk on my hands. Might also work well for pee-on-a-stick pregnancy tests.
Now that I think of it, I could see this for people who are post-operative, like right after hip replacement, when the process of getting down and up to use a toilet is difficult and painful. Others who have trouble maneuvering in tight spaces might also find it helpful.
-At first, it’s a little awkward. Where do I point this thing?!? I relaxed and thought of all the times I’ve seen men go, and that seemed to cause me to automatically assume the correct position. I never had to do any cleanup.
-The big opening that goes against your body is a good design. It’s difficult to place it wrong.
-If you’re traveling with the P-Mate, I suggest also packing some TP or wet wipes.
-Main problem – the P-Mate is not flushable, nor is it considered reusable. In places with squat toilets, real bathrooms, or portable toilets, that’s probably not an issue, because there will be wastebaskets. For real camping/hiking, though, you want to pack everything out with you. Because the P-Mate folds flat, you could keep a zipper baggie of your used ones – they’re very light. I do suspect that you could rinse and reuse a few times if you were determined and inclined to. Because it is not technically reusable according to the manufacturer, though, I would suggest it for unique situations rather than everyday use.

Thanks to Karen Diamond, U.S. distributor, for provision of the samples. Visit the U.S. distributor sites for P-Mate at P-Mate USA and Go Your Way.

[PS – Welcome, Medgadget and Jezebel readers!]

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2007 9:38 am

    I hate to say it, but however convinient it might be, isn’t this just another pointless disposable product meeting a need that doesn’t actually exist?! If it’s not flushable, is it biodegradable? Is is made from recycled paper?

    • Karina permalink
      July 30, 2012 3:16 pm

      Hi Jess,
      Here is a re-usable version that I personally own and love. http://www.thepstyle.com/ I use it whenever camping or boating and recently took it with me to Peru – it was very handy!!

  2. June 25, 2007 9:45 am

    Jess,
    The P-Mate website says, “The P-Mate is made of environmentally friendly, fully recyclable material.” I couldn’t find that last night for some reason, so I didn’t include it in the post initially. Not sure if it is made from recycled materials, but I can check. I do think it can meet a need for some situations and women, although I share your concerns about waste. I thought of tossing one in my compost to see what happens – if I do, I’ll let you know.

  3. June 25, 2007 7:28 pm

    Jess,
    I’ve learned that the product is not currently made of recycled materials, but there are plans in the works to do so, at least in the U.S.

  4. June 26, 2007 12:06 pm

    There is a reusable plastic version too, called Shewee.

  5. June 26, 2007 1:09 pm

    Googling around, I also came across a version called “The Whiz” (or was it two z’s?) and WhizPlus, which are reusable.

  6. June 26, 2007 1:25 pm

    Thanks to the last two commenters for the additional suggestions!

  7. July 2, 2007 8:21 pm

    There’s also one called the TravelMate. It has a much smaller opening to put over the girly bits, though, and it’s easy to place it wrong. The P-Mate seems like an easier design to use, particularly after that couple of beers.

  8. August 1, 2007 6:46 pm

    Fascinating stuff! I can think of a few times in my life where a product like this would have come in handy. Hmmm…

    Thanks for writing the review!

  9. Mel permalink
    April 9, 2008 8:04 pm

    I am trying to find out who manufactures PMate. Does anyone know?

    • October 7, 2009 8:47 am

      Hi Mel,

      Sorry, but I just read your question on this site.
      We, P-Mate BV in The Netherlands, are the owner of the P-Mate.
      We also produce the P-Matein the Netherlands and trough some distributors all around the world, we deliver them.

      Since a year or so, the product is back in the spotlights, mainly in Europe, but also in the US and Canada.

      Just give me an e-mail on jack@p-mate.com, if you have any more questions.

      With kind regards,

      Jack Beerens
      Sales & Export manager P-Mate BV

  10. June 14, 2009 4:01 am

    YAA Adding this to my bookmarks. Thank You

  11. Emily permalink
    May 15, 2012 4:58 pm

    The P-mate is AMAZING!! Wish I bought the product earlier! Easy to use easpecaill with jeans and boxers.

Trackbacks

  1. Mom’s Tinfoil Hat » Archive » Wow, I guess I rock!
  2. Nashville is Talking » Now we women can write our names in the snow, too!
  3. Top Posts « WordPress.com
  4.   P-Mate by Rachanont
  5. P-Mate - The Freedom To Pee Standing Up | Rose DesRochers - World Outside my Window
  6. I Help Aunt B Pee Standing Up « Women’s Health News
  7. Jezebel Can Suck It (But Can’t Breastfeed) « Women’s Health News
  8. The Year in Review, 2007 « Women’s Health News

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,102 other followers

